Physics is a *moving* science

funny - science - physics - kinematics - don't be a jerk

Don’t start crying – it’s not about emotion, its all about motion. On second thoughts, you might want to cry after all – this unit we start pulling out the maths, and we just WON’T STOP! There is a lot to get done, and less time to do it in, but we’ve already talked about how much harder you are going to have to work this semester, so I won’t go into that any further.

The important thing to remember, when we are solving equations or drawing graphs is that PHYSICS IS NOT A MATHEMATICAL SUBJECT! Mathematics may be one of the techniques we use to model, analyse or predict what will happen in a situation, but the important thing is the concepts and theories underneath – you must understand the ideas below the mathematics. This is why the major task I have assigned to you so far is all about your “reading record”, not a list of questions. Keep in mind you must try and understand the “why” before you start analysing the “how” with the formulas.

This is not to say that you can ignore the mathematical components -NO! But it is equally important that you make sure that you understand both parts of the science – the Mathematical (data, formulas, graphs and equations) and the Conceptual (Theories, Laws and explanations).

I have a few posts previously about this topic you are expected to read them and look at the resources (1, 2, 3, 4) – note that there is some useful information in comments too. The posts that I have linked to give you almost all the information you need on the xuvat formulas, but what we need to discuss is graphing – because you must be able to do this, verbally (describe what is happening), graphically (interpret and plot related graphs) and mathematically (calculating gradients, areas and connection to formulas). This will take a lot of time, so you need to set aside some time to get through the following resources.

First, there are a series of videos, almost an hour long in total. You need to watch two of these each night for a week. Here is the link.

Second I have linked to a series of four (4!) resources that explore and explain graphing. I expect you to each browse all five resources, and then pick two to work through in detail. I will expect you to give thoughtful considered reasons in the comments explaining your choice. Here are the links to the resources: 1, 2, 3, 4.

Thirdly, don’t forget your “Tell me a story” and “Driving to Hilary’s” work requirements!

See you in class!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Kinematics, Physics, Uncategorized, Year 11

6 Comments on “Physics is a *moving* science”

  1. zac jenzen Says:

    Zac here
    i chose resources 2 & 3 as they had clear explanations and relevant graphs to back up the explanations


  2. I agree with Zac. Resources 2 & 3 are most helpful for me because they use language that I can understand for the concepts and provide plenty of visuals to back up the explanations.

    Ash

  3. Kyle Jarman Says:

    I decided to look into the second resource because it explains things in a fairly simple way and some of the graphs animate 😀
    I also looked at the fourth because it explains how to get ‘answers; from a graph which i am still not fully confident with 🙂

  4. kbkamikaze Says:

    I chose 3 and 4. Number 3 really cemented my understanding of differing scalers and vectors, I also looked at the force one with the cars, those equations look tricky. 4 helped my xuvvat understanding, and I’ve been looking at the physics labs website for a few days now. It’s really helping me out. I’m getting more confident with all these physics things. 🙂

  5. Luke Montgomery Says:

    I chose 2 and 3 because they are really easy to understand. I like the summaries of each graph type in the second resource.

    Luke


Say Something!

